England vs India Test

England announces 12-man squad for the Lord’s Test

in Blog/England/Featured/Teams

England skipper Joe Root has named a 12-man squad for the second Test against India starting at Lord’s on Thursday (August 9).

Root has confirmed that 20 year-old Ollie Pope will receive his debut at No. 4, replacing Dawid Malan from the side that won the first Test by 31 runs at Edgbaston.

Pope’s inclusion means he will be the fourth player under the age of 21 to play a Test for England this year, after Mason Crane, Dom Bess and Sam Curran.

He is the second highest run-scorer in Division One of the County Championship, with 684 runs at an average of 85.50.


Meanwhile, seamer Jamie Porter misses out from the initial 13-man squad, with Root set to confirm at the toss whether Moeen Ali or Chris Woakes will replace Ben Stokes.

England’s 12-man squad:

Joe Root (c), Moeen Ali, James Anderson, Jonny Bairstow (w), Stuart Broad, Jos Buttler, Alastair Cook, Sam Curran, Keaton Jennings, Ollie Pope, Adil Rashid, Chris Woakes

This article was first published on CricketTimes.com.
For latest cricket news and updates, visit https://crickettimes.com.